2012 SPORTYS nominees and hall of famers announced

In just its second year, the SPORTYS @ Full Sail University will, according to a recent press release, recognize “the top area teams, high school, collegiate and professional athletes, coaches, deserving local residents and businesses throughout Lake, Orange, Osceola, Seminole and Volusia Counties.”

The Central Florida Sports Commission recently released the list of this year’s nominees, who vie for awards in 10 different categories (as seen below), as well as the winner of this year's Rich DeVos Community Spirit Award, Florida Citrus Sports.

Also released were the names of those athletes who will be inducted into the Central Florida Sports Hall of Fame: former Orlando Magic basketball player and eight-time NBA All-Star Vince Carter, professional female golfer Annika Sorenstam and former member of the 1984 U.S. Olympic basketball team and current head boys basketball coach at Lake Highland Preparatory School, Jeff Turner.

WFTV news anchor Greg Warmouth will host the SPORTYS awards ceremony, which will be held at 6:30 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 22 at Full Sail University. The evening will feature a red-carpet reception and Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse Overtime Party with free hors d’oeuvres, drinks and other entertainment. The SPORTYS winners will be announced that evening, and if you want part of the action, tickets ($85 per person) can be purchased through the Central Florida Sports website.

And now for the nominees

Team of the Year

Orlando City Soccer

Rollins Women’s Basketball

Spruce Creek Baseball

High School Athlete of the Year

Joel Berry – Lake Highland Preparatory School

Alexis Prince – Edgewater High School

Andres Arroyo – Colonial High School

College Athlete of the Year

Octavious Freeman – track & field, UCF

Lucas Jovita –tennis, Rollins College

Aurieyall Scott – track & field, UCF

Professional Athlete of the Year

Ryan Lochte – 2012 Summer Olympics swimming

Tyson Gay – 2012 Summer Olympics track & field

Dennis Chin – Orlando City Soccer

Coach of the Year

Anthony Jones – Dr. Phillips girls basketball

Adrian Heath – Orlando City Soccer

Terry Rooney – UCF Baseball

Business of the Year

Orlando Magic

Golf Channel

Orlando City Soccer

Employee of the Year

Kevin Weickel – Disney Sports

Troy Willrick – Daytona International Speedway

Matt Repchak – Florida Citrus Sports

Volunteer of the Year

Mike Gaboury – Sunshine State Conference

Tom Horan – Tavistock Group

Cathy Gahres – Central Florida Sports Commission

Media of the Year

Bright House Sports Network

WFTV Channel 9 Orlando

Mike Bianchi