The eight Orlando area lawmakers who voted down this week's assault weapon ban

Just days after a teenager used an AR-15 to murder 17 people at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Republicans in the Florida House stood in front of survivors from the shooting and turned down a motion to even debate whether or not the state should regulate the sale and possession of semi-automatic rifles and extended magazines.
The bill, HB 219, was introduced by Rep. Carlos Guillermo Smith, D-Orlando, and was overwhelmingly rejected by Republicans by a margin of 76-36. You can read more on the bill here.

Here are the Orlando-area lawmakers who voted "nay."
  • Bob Cortes, R-Altamonte Springs
  • Mike La Rosa, R-St. Cloud
  • Mike Miller, R-Winter Park
  • Robert "Bobby O" Olszewski, R-Winter Garden
  • Scott Plakon, R-Longwood
  • Jason Brodeur, R-Sanford
  • Rene "Coach P" Plasencia, R-Orlando
  • Jennifer Mae Sullivan, R-Mount Dora

Instead of addressing assault weapons, despite the state of Florida now claiming two of the 10 worst mass shootings in modern U.S. history, the House decided to vote to approve a resolution filed by Rep. Ross Spano, R-Dover, that recognizes the "public health risk created by pornography and acknowledges the need for education, prevention, research and policy change to protect citizens of this state."

On a side note, Spano's twitter account was caught "liking" lesbian porn last September.

CORRECTION: We updated the story to include Jason Brodeur, R-Sanford.
Scroll to read more Orlando Area News articles


Join Orlando Weekly Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.