Best Of 2020

Best Underground Family Reunion
Photo by Lego Explore Orlando

Pre-INC Orlando

Feb. 3, 2020

Attendees didn't realize it at the time, but this was to be the last mass gathering of the experimental underground in Orlando for a long, long time. It had the feel of a familial gathering, with several generations of local musical outliers all taking their 15-minute turn amongst performers from around the country. So scene veterans like Dan Reaves and Jim Ivy played alongside TTN and free-jazz armada Bongus. New projects from familiar faces like Saturn Valley and Cabo Boing captivated, as did newer locals like Aaron's Home and Jün. The closing sets from scene fulcrums Bacon Grease and event organizer Formaldehydra were an unintentionally fitting and valedictory farewell.

Music & Nightlife: Best of Orlando 2020

Music & Nightlife: Best of Orlando 2020

Music & Nightlife

Best Bar
Photo by Lego Explore Orlando

1st: Will's Pub willspub.org

2nd: Hourglass Brewing hourglassbrewing.com

3rd: Southern Nights Orlando facebook.com/southernnightsorlando

Best Bar Patio
Photo by Lego Explore Orlando

1st: Eden Bar enzian.org

2nd: The Hammered Lamb thehammeredlamb.com

3rd: Ember emberorlando.com

Best Bartender
Photo by Lego Explore Orlando

1st: Robbie Kennerney, Throwbacks Sanford, throwbackssanford.business.site

2nd: Shane Williams, Hourglass Brewing hourglassbrewing.com

3rd: Jen Harton, Lil Indie's willspub.org

Best Club DJ
Photo by Lego Explore Orlando

1st: Angel of Boom

2nd: DJ Chocolate Rain instagram.com/dj_chocolate_rain

3rd: DJ BMF facebook.com/deejaybmf

Best Club Night
Photo by Lego Explore Orlando

1st: '80s New Wave Night at Independent Bar, independentbar.net

2nd: Girl the Party at Southern Nights Orlando girltheparty.com

3rd: Mac & Cheese '90s Night at Independent Bar independentbar.net

Best Cocktail Bar
Photo by Lego Explore Orlando

1st: Lil Indie's willspub.org

2nd: Mathers Social Gathering mathersorlando.com

3rd: The Guesthouse instagram.com/the_guesthouse

Best Craft Beer Bar
Photo by Lego Explore Orlando

1st: Crooked Can Brewing Company crookedcan.com

2nd: Hourglass Brewing hourglassbrewing.com

3rd: Redlight Redlight redlightredlightbeerparlour.com

Best Dance Club
Photo by Lego Explore Orlando

1st: Independent Bar independentbar.net

2nd: Southern Nights Orlando facebook.com/southernnightsorlando

3rd: Parliament House parliamenthouse.com

Best Dive Bar
Photo by Lego Explore Orlando

1st: Will's Pub willspub.org

2nd: Hideaway Bar facebook.com/hideawaybarfl

3rd: West End Trading Co. drinkatwestend.com