Thursday, October 10, 2019

Orlando Shakes brings out Shakespeare's Scottish play, Macbeth, for the season of the witch

Posted By on Thu, Oct 10, 2019 at 11:32 AM

click to enlarge Christian Ryan and Lucy Lavely in Macbeth - PHOTO BY CHRISTIAN KNIGHTLY
  • Photo by Christian Knightly
  • Christian Ryan and Lucy Lavely in Macbeth
If there’s any Shakespeare play that goes hand-in-hand with spooky season, it’s Macbeth. Not only because it features a trio of witches spitting sick rhymes, but because it’s straight-up cursed. According to the superstitions of theater folk, ol’ Billy Shakes ticked off a coven of real witches with his unflattering portrayal of the three in Macbeth, leading them to hex the play for all time. Productions over the years have been plagued with everything from falls, fires, mysterious deaths, riots, suicides and – most devastating of all for theater troupes – bankruptcy. And you were nervous about seeing Joker on opening night.

7:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 11 | through Nov. 24 | Orlando Shakes, 812 E. Rollins St. | 407-447-1700 | orlandoshakes.org | $30-$59

Get our top picks for the best events in Orlando every Thursday morning. Sign up for our weekly Events newsletter.
Event Details Macbeth
@ Orlando Shakes
812 E. Rollins St.
Mills 50
Orlando, FL
When: Sat., Oct. 19, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Oct. 20, 2 p.m., Wed., Oct. 23, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Thu., Oct. 24, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Oct. 25, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Oct. 26, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Oct. 27, 2 p.m., Wed., Oct. 30, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 1, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Nov. 2, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Nov. 3, 2 p.m., Wed., Nov. 6, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Thu., Nov. 7, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 8, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Nov. 9, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Nov. 10, 2 p.m., Wed., Nov. 13, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Thu., Nov. 14, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 15, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Nov. 16, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Nov. 17, 2 p.m., Tue., Nov. 19, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Nov. 21, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 22, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Nov. 23, 2 & 7:30 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 24, 2 & 7:30 p.m.
Price: $30-$59
Theater

Related Events

  • Macbeth @ Orlando Shakes

    • Sat., Oct. 19, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Oct. 20, 2 p.m., Wed., Oct. 23, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Thu., Oct. 24, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Oct. 25, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Oct. 26, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Oct. 27, 2 p.m., Wed., Oct. 30, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 1, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Nov. 2, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Nov. 3, 2 p.m., Wed., Nov. 6, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Thu., Nov. 7, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 8, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Nov. 9, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Nov. 10, 2 p.m., Wed., Nov. 13, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Thu., Nov. 14, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 15, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Nov. 16, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Nov. 17, 2 p.m., Tue., Nov. 19, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Nov. 21, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 22, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Nov. 23, 2 & 7:30 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 24, 2 & 7:30 p.m. $30-$59

Related Locations

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Calendar

© 2019 Orlando Weekly

Website powered by Foundation