Friday, May 17, 2019

It's now officially against Florida law to text while driving

Posted By on Fri, May 17, 2019 at 11:12 AM

click to enlarge PHOTO BY CHUCHI25 VIA ADOBE STOCK
Put it down. Texting while driving in Florida is now officially illegal.

On Friday during an event in Sarasota, Gov. Ron DeSantis signed a bill, HB 107, that makes using your phone while driving in Florida a primary offense.

The law also requires school zones and active work zones to be hands-free areas — as in, you're not allowed to pick up your devices while driving in these areas. However, it prohibits law enforcement from accessing or confiscating wireless devices without first obtaining a warrant.

The bill originally passed the Florida House by a vote of 108-7.



Under current Florida law, motorists can only be issued a citation for texting or otherwise using their phones while driving if they're pulled over for other reasons.

The new law goes into effect July 1, though fines for the hands-free part of the law will not go into effect until Jan. 1, 2020. Fines will remain the same: A first offense carries a $30 fine, while a second offense carries a $60 fine.

Stay on top of Orlando news and views. Sign up for our weekly Headlines newsletter.

Tags: , ,

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Calendar

© 2019 Orlando Weekly

Website powered by Foundation