You searched for:

  • [X]2012
  • [X]Music & Nightlife
Start over

Narrow Search

Music & Nightlife

Readers' Choice

Music & Nightlife - Reader' Picks 

click to enlarge 1345201.jpg

Editor's note: This year, we attempted to introduce a category for Best Singer/Songwriter in the Bet of Orlando Readers Poll. Unfortunately, our tallying software failed us, and the program did not tabulate any votes for the category. We apologize to all of the singer/songwriters and their fans who campaigned for Best Singer/Songwriter. We're moving to a new voting system next year that has fewer quirks, so hopefully this kind of problem will be a thing of the past.

 

 

Best Club DJ

1ST Baby Lac, @djbabylac
2ND Lemy Currey, facebook.com/lemycurrey
3rd Jimmy Joslin, facebook.com/JimmyJoslin

Best Club Night

1ST Hospitality Blue Mondays at Blue Martini, 4200 Conroy Road, 407-447-2583, bluemartinilounge.com
2ND Takeovr Tuesdays at Roxy, 740 Bennett Road, 407-898-4004, roxyorlando.com
3rd Ignition Thursdays at Firestone, 578 N. Orange Ave., 407-872-0066, firestonelive.net

Best Country Act

1ST Hindu Cowboys, hinducowboys.com
2ND Thomas Wynn & the Believers, facebook.com/thomaswynnandthebelievers
3rd Lonesome City Travelers, lonesomecitytravelers.com/

Best Electronic Act

1ST Yip-Yip, yip-yip.com
2ND Trayer, trayer.bandcamp.com
3rd Blood Eagle, facebook.com/BloodEagleMusic

Best Experimental Act

1ST Yip-Yip, yip-yip.com
2nd (tie) Dr. Moonstien, drmoonstien.bandcamp.com
2nd (tie) TELETHON, therealtelethon.bandcamp.com
3rd (tie) Crater Tater, facebook.com/cratertater
3rd (tie) The Mud Flappers, facebook.com/themudflappers

Best Folk

1ST The Mud Flappers, facebook.com/themudflappers
2ND Jubal's Kin, jubals-kin.com
3rd Thomas Wynn & The Believers, facebook.com/thomaswynnandthebelievers

Best Hip-Hop

1ST Solillaquists of Sound, solilla.com
2ND MC Wreckshin, mcwreckshin.com
3rd Mad Sexual Genius, madsexualgenius.com

Best Indie Act

1ST Random Encounter, randomencounterband.com
2ND Snafu, facebook.com/SNAFUtheBand
3rd (tie) Andy Matchett & The Minks, facebook.com/andymatchettandtheminks
3rd (tie) The Pauses, thepauses.com

Best Jazz Act

1ST Absinthe Jazz Trio
2ND The Cook Trio, thecooktrio.com
3rd Shaun Rounds Blues Band, facebook.com/pages/Shaun-Rounds-Blues-Band/163840504448

Best Karaoke

1ST Big Daddy's Roadhouse, 3001 Corrine Drive, 407-644-2844, facebook.com/BigDaddysOrlando
2ND Korndogg's Rock Band Karaoke,multiple locations, rockbandkaraoke.com
3rd Rising Star at Universal Orlando's City Walk, Universal CityWalk,
6000 Universal Blvd., 407-363-8000, universalorlando.com

Best Latin Act

1ST Rico Monaco Band, ricomonaco.com
2ND Abdias Ernesto Garcia, abdiasernestogarcia.com
3rd no winner

Best Live Music Club

1ST The Social, 54 N. Orange Ave., 407-246-1419, thesocial.org
2ND The Plaza Live, 425 N. Bumby Ave, 407-228-1220, plazaliveorlando.com
3rd Will's Pub, 1042 N. Mills Ave., 407-898-5070, willspub.org

Best Local Music Festival

1ST Nerdapalooza, nerdapalooza.org
2ND Orange You Glad, orangeyougladfest.com
3rd Florida Music Festival, floridamusicfestival.com

Best Mainstream Rock Act

1ST Thomas Wynn & the Believers, facebook.com/thomaswynnandthebelievers
2ND Rug, rugtheband.com
3rd Andy Matchett & the Minks, facebook.com/andymatchettandtheminks

Best Metal Act

1ST Sci-Fried, sci-friedband.com
2nd Gargamel! gargamel.net
3rd Primary Colors, facebook.com/PrimaryColorsMusic

Best Open Mic

1ST Austin's Coffee, 929 W. Fairbanks Ave., 407-975-3364, austinscoffee.com
2ND Natura Coffee & Tea, 10278 Collegiate Way, 407-482-5000
3rd The Other Bar, 18 Wall St., 407-843-8595

Best Pop Act

1ST Beebs & Her Money Makers, beebsandhermoneymakers.com
2ND Britt Daley, brittdaley.com
3rd (tie) Saskatchewan, saskatchewan.bandcamp.com
3rd (tie) Micah & the Reason, facebook.com/micahandthereason

Best Punk Act

1ST The Attack, theattack.us
2ND Awesome & the Ass Kickers, myspace.com/awesomeandtheasskickers
3rd Wet Nurse, wet-nurse.bandcamp.com

Best Reggae/Ska Act

1ST The Supervillains, thesupervillains.com
2ND Teflon Don, teflondonska.com
3rd (tie) Hor!zen, facebook.com/HorizenMusic
3rd (tie) Mystik NRG, facebook.com/mystik.nrg

Best Soul Act

1st The Legendary JC's, thejointchiefs.com
2ND Kaleigh Baker, kaleighbaker.com
3rd Shaun Rounds Blues Band, facebook.com/ShaunRounds

Best Bar (Smoking)

1ST Will's Pub, 1042 N. Mills Ave., 407-898-5070, willspub.org
2ND The Peacock Room, 1321 N. Mills Ave., 407-228-0048, thepeacockroom.com
3rd Tanquerays, 100 S. Orange Ave., 407-649-8540

Best Bar (Non-Smoking)

1ST Redlight Red Light Beer Parlour, 745 Bennett Road, 407-893-9832, redlightredlightbeerparlour.com
2ND The Imperial Wine Bar & Beer Garden, 1800 N. Orange Ave., 407-228-4992, imperialwinebar.com
3rd (tie) Oblivion Taproom, 5101 E. Colonial Drive, 407-802-4800, obliviontaproom.com
3rd (tie) The Milk Bar, 2424 E. Robinson St., 407-896-4954, themilkbarorlando.com

Best Bartender

1ST Teege Braune, Redlight Redlight Beer Parlour, 745 Bennett Road, 407-893-9832, redlightredlightbeerparlour.com
2ND Josh Call, Backbooth, 37 W. Pine St., 407-999-2570, backbooth.com
3rd (tie) Bartender Brian, Lizzy McCormacks, 55 N. Orange Ave., 407-426-8007, lizzymccormacks.com
3rd (tie) Phil Longo, multiple locations

Best Craft Beer

1ST Redlight Redlight Beer Parlour, 745 Bennett Road, 407-893-9832, redlightredlightbeerparlour.com
2ND World of Beer, multiple locations, wobusa.com
3rd Frank & Stein's Eatery and Pub, 150 S. Magnolia Ave. 407-412-9230, frankandsteins.com

Best Dive Bar

1ST Wally's Mills Avenue Liquors, 1001 N. Mills Ave., 407-896-6975, wallysonmills.com
2ND Will's Pub, 1042 N. Mills Ave., 407-898-5070, willspub.org
3rd Redlight Redlight Beer Parlour, 745 Bennett Road, 407-893-9832, redlightredlightbeerparlour.com

Best Drunken Hookup Bar

1ST Independent Bar, 70 N. Orange Ave., 407-839-0457, independentbar.net
2ND Bar-B-Q Bar, 64 N. Orange Ave., 407-648-5441
3rd The Lodge, 49 N. Orange Ave., 407-650-8786, downtownlodge.com

Best Gay Bar

1ST Parliament House, 410 N. Orange Blossom Trail, 407-425-7571, parliamenthouse.com
2ND Pulse, 1912 S. Orange Ave., 407-649-3888, pulseorlando.net
3rd Revolution, 375 S. Bumby Ave., 407-228-9900, revolutionorlando.com

Best Strip Club

1ST Dancer's Royale, 5221 E. Colonial Drive, 407-281-0120
2ND Rachel's, 401 Semoran Blvd., 407-767-2977; 8701 S. Orange Ave., 407-965-0992 rachels.com
3rd Diamond Club, 527 N. Semoran Blvd., 407-737-2130

Best Happy Hour

1ST Buffalo Wild Wings, multiple locations, buffalowildwings.com
2ND MoonFish, 7525 W. Sand Lake Road, 407-363-7262, fishfusion.com
3rd Elephant Bar, 4054 Conroy Road, 407-370-6412, elephantbar.com

Best Tap Room

1ST Oblivion Taproom, 5101 E. Colonial Drive, 407-802-4800, obliviontaproom.com
2ND Will's Pub, 1042 N. Mills Ave., 407-898-5070, willspub.org
3rd Redlight Redlight Beer Parlour, 745 Bennett Road, 407-893-9832, redlightredlightbeerparlour.com

Best Sports Bar

1ST Buffalo Wild Wings, multiple locations, buffalowildwings.com
2ND Sportstown Billiards, 2414 E. Robinson St., 407-894-6258, sportstownbilliards.net
3rd Miller's Ale House, multiple locations, millersalehouse.com

Best Wine Bar

1ST The Wine Room on Park Ave., 270 Park Ave S., 407-696-9463, thewineroomonline.com
2ND Eola Wine Company, 136 S. Park Ave., 407-647-9103
500 E. Central Blvd., 407-481-9100, eolawinecompany.com
3rd Aroma Italian Café & Wine Bar, 712 E. Washington St., 407-426-8989, aromaitaliancafe.com

(Sorry, no information is currently available for other years in this same award category.)

Calendar

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2016 Orlando Weekly

Website powered by Foundation