You searched for:

Start over

Narrow Search

Arts & Culture

Arts & Culture - Reader' Picks 

click to enlarge 1345206.jpg

Best Arts Event/Festival

1st The Orlando International Fringe Theater Festival, orlandofringe.org
2nd Winter Park Sidewalk Art Festival, wpsaf.org
3rd Nude Nite Art Exposé, nudenite.com

Best Art Night (Recurring)

1st Orlando Museum of Art 1st Thursday, omart.org
2nd Third Thursday Gallery Hop – Downtown Arts District
3rd Blank Space Art Market (now closed)

Best Arts Advocate

1st Donna Dowless, heartartist.com
2nd Parker Sketch, parkersketch.blogspot.com
3rd Terry Olson

Best Local Artist

1st Andrew Spear, spearlife.com
2nd Thomas Thorspecken, analogartistdigitalworld
3rd Karen Russell, thedaytimedoldrums.com

Best Local Author

1st Jeff Ashton, troumandwallsh.com/jeff-ashton.htm
2nd Liz Langley, liz-langley.blogspot.com
3rd Bob Morris, bobmorris.net

Best Local Poet/Spoken Word Artist

1st Tod Caviness, @wiggystarbucks
2nd Patrick Scott Barnes, stonecrazydj.wordpress.com
3rd Curtis Meyer, facebook.com/curtismeyerwinterpark

Best Local Playwright

1st Michael Wanzie, wanzie.com
2nd Tod Kimbro, todkimbro.com
3rd Nicole Antonia Carson

Best Gallery

1st CityArts Factory, 29 S. Orange Ave., 407-648-7060, http://www.orlandoslice.com/group/cityartsfactory
2nd Twelve21 Gallery, 1221-C N. Orange Ave., 407-982-4357, twelve21gallery.com
3rd Mother Falcon/The Falcon Bar, 819 E. Washington St., 407-423-3060, motherfalconclothing.com

Best Museum

1st Orlando Museum of Art, 2416 N. Mills Ave., 407-896-4231, omart.org
2nd Morse Museum, 445 North Park Ave., Winter Park, 407-645-5311, morsemuseum.org
3rd Orlando Science Center, 777 E. Princeton St., 407-514-2000, osc.org

Best Movie Theater

1st Enzian Theater, 1300 S. Orlando Ave., Maitland, 407-629-0054, enzian.org
2nd Cobb Plaza, 155 S. Orange Ave., 407-982-5444
3rd Regal Winter Park Village, 510 N. Orlando Ave., Winter Park, 407-628-0035

Best Radio Station

1st WPRK 91.5 FM "The Voice of Rollins College," rollins.edu/wprk
2nd WTKS 104.1-FM "Real Radio," realradio.fm/main.html
3rd WXXL 106.7-FM "XL 106.7," xl1067.com/main.html

Best Dance Company

1st Orlando Ballet, orlandoballet.org
2nd Voci Dance, vocidance.org
3rd Yow Dance, yowdance.org

Best Theater Company

1st Mad Cow Theatre, 105 S. Magnolia Ave., 407-297-8788, madcowtheatre.com
2nd (tie): Orlando Shakespeare Theater, 812 E. Rollins St., 407-447-1700, orlandoshakes.org
2nd (tie): Skill Focus: Burlesque, skillfocusburlesque.com
3rd SAK Comedy Lab, 29 S. Orange Ave., 407-648-0001, sak.com

Best Theater Space

1st Lowndes Shakespeare Center, 812 E. Rollins St., 407-447-1700, orlandoshakes.org
2nd The Orlando Repertory Theatre, 1001 E. Princeton St., 407-896-7365, orlandorep.com
3rd Theater Downtown, 2113 N. Orange Ave., 407-841-0083, theatredowntown.net

Best Graffiti Wall

1st Drunken Monkey, 444 N. Bumby Ave., 407-893-4994, drunkenmonkeycoffee.com
2nd Black Chapel Tattoo, 693 N. Orange Ave., Suite 200, 407-420-9636, blackchapeltattoos.com
3rd Pho 88, 730 N. Mills Ave., 407-897-3488, pho88orlando.com

Best Mural

1st Whose Line Is It, Anyway?, Thomas Thorspecken, Mennello Museum of American Art, 900 E. Princeton St.
2nd Hideaway Mural, at Hideaway Bar, Andrew Spear, 516 Virginia Drive
3rd Elephant Mural, at Sam Flax, Andrew Spear, 1800 E. Colonial Drive

Best Public Art

1st Mills 50 utility boxes, various artists and locations, mills50.org/news/art-box-project/
2nd The SIT Project, Brendan O'Connor, various locations: thesitproject.com
3rd Light Waves, Christopher Janney, Orlando Public Library, 101 E. Central Blvd., janneysound.com/urban-musical-instruments/light-waves-orlando

(Sorry, no information is currently available for other years in this same award category.)

Calendar

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2016 Orlando Weekly

Website powered by Foundation