Friday, June 26, 2015

Paper pushers: Orlando Zine Fest hits orbit at the Space Station today and tomorrow

Posted By on Fri, Jun 26, 2015 at 10:52 AM

click to enlarge 573c64_6f76c9fe324841ddad76a88ddd9c3e3d.jpg_srz_p_381_520_75.jpeg
If “zine fest” conjures up images of sad card tables stacked with badly Xeroxed, folded-and-stapled office paper, shake your head HARD to clear out the cobwebs; this two-day celebration will be nothing like that. Instead, works on paper (and even textiles) by almost 20 local artists, poets and writers will be displayed for ogling and offered for sale.

Artists like David Hoskins, Justin Luper, Adam LaVigne, Brandon Geurts and Tara Atefi will be cheek-by-jowl with established local zines like Is It Over Yet? and Tittie-Thyme; local live reading series Functionally Literate and Literocalypse will be on hand, as will scene sites Always Nothing and the Vinyl Warhol; and workshops on screenprinting, button-making and even how to make your own deodorant (yes) pop up on Friday. If you’ve always dreamed of achieving stardom and wealth in the exciting world of DIY publications, here’s your big chance. 

Orlando Zine Fest
5 p.m. Friday and Saturday, June 26-27
The Space Station
2539 Coolidge Ave. 
Orlando Zine Fest Facebook event page
free, but donations suggested at the door

Schedule (with live links here)

'zines, art, and other goodies by: 
  • The Space Station - [www.lowerearthorbit.com]
  • Is it Over Yet? - [www.isitoveryet.org]
  • Tittie-Thyme - [www.facebook.com/tittiethyme]
  • Always Nothing - [www.alwaysnothing.com]
  • Ritual Press - [www.ritualpress.net] 
  • Brandon Geurts -[www.brandongeurts.com]
  • Tara Atefi - [N/A]
  • 3 Pesos - [N/A]
  • The Emperor's New Prose - [www.facebook.com/theemperorsnewprose]
  • Literocalypse - [www.facebook.com/literocalypse]
  • Adam Lavigne - [adamwadelavigne.tumblr.com/]
  • Agencies - [agencies-orl.tumblr.com]
  • Audio Junkie - [audiojunkie.bigcartel.com]
  • 904 Pinball Zine - [www.904pinballzine.com]
  • The Vinyl Warhol - [www.thevinylwarhol.com]
  • Jesse Feinman - [www.travels.tumblr.com]
  • Daniel Gorostiaga - [www.marginalmanworks.com/]
  • Functionally Literate - [www.functionallyliterate.org]
  • David Hoskins - [www.davidhoskins.com]
  • Crack Dad - [crackdad.bigcartel.com/]
  • Völva - [www.alwaysnothing.com/stories/josh-king]
  • Justin Luper - [www.sheetfort.tumblr.com/]
  • Nico Sinnott - [N/A]
  • Bjørn Halden Parramoure - [fornjot.tumblr.com/]
  • Vanessa Andrade - [vandrade.format.com/]
  • Palm Reader - [N/A]
————————————————————————-
*Screenprinting workshop by The Space Station [5-12p.m.] both days
*Button-making workshop by Tittie-Thyme [7-9p.m.]
*DIY deodorant workshop by Tittie-Thyme [6-7p.m.]
————————————————————————-
Musical entertainment by:

Manic & The Depressives - [manicandthedepressives.bandcamp.com]

False Punk vs. Wet Nurse vs. Vivian K.
[https://wetnurse.bandcamp.com/]
[https://falsepunk.bandcamp.com/]
[https://viviank.bandcamp.com/]

& TBA 

Related Locations

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Calendar

© 2016 Orlando Weekly

Website powered by Foundation